

CURRITUCK COUNTY NORTH CAROLINA

Minutes - Regular Meeting of the Historic Preservation Commission

November 15, 2022, 6:30 p.m.

Present: Virginia Agreste Board Member

Josh Bass Chairman

Sophie Jordan Board Member Mary Simmons Vice Chairman Barbara Snowden Board Member

Staff Present: Jennie Turner Ex-Officio

1. Call to Order

Chairman Bass called the meeting to order at 6:30PM.

2. Ask For Disqualifications

None.

3. Announce Quorum Being Met

A quorum of 5 was present.

4. Approval of October 5, 2022 Minutes

MOVER: Mary Simmons **SECONDER:** Sophie Jordan

Motion to Approve Previous Minutes

AYES (5): Virginia Agreste, Josh Bass, Sophie Jordan, Mary Simmons, and

Barbara Snowden

RESULT: Approved (5 to 0)

5. Old Business

The commission noted that the Historic Property Tour was a great success.

6. New Business

1. HPC 22-01 Local Historic Landmark Application Gideon C. Boswood, Jr. House

Ms. Turner presented the Local Landmark Application. Ms. Turner stated that staff recommends adoption of the proposed ordinance.

MOVER: Barbara Snowden **SECONDER:** Virginia Agreste

AYES (5): Virginia Agreste, Josh Bass, Sophie Jordan, Mary Simmons,

and Barbara Snowden

RESULT: Approved (5 to 0)

a. HPC 22-01 Staff Report

- b. HPC 22-01 Application
- c. HPC 22-01 Map
- d. HPC 22-01 Landmark Report
- e. HPC 22-01 SHPO Letter
- f. HPC 22-01 SHPO Ordinance

2. Discussion of additional inventory properties

The commission discussed adding 426 N. Gregory Road, 2755 Caratoke Highway and 5895 Caratoke Highway to the inventory and will make a formal motion at the next meeting.

7. Announcements

Ms. Snowden announced that the Historical Society will meet on December 12th with a guest speaker who will speak about the state's plans for celebrating the 250th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence and why NC is important in the American Revolution.

On December 3rd there will be a Christmas Tree lighting at the Historic Courthouse.

8. Public Comments

None.

9. Adjournment

MOVER: Sophie Jordan **SECONDER:** Mary Simmons

Motion to Adjourn

AYES (5): Virginia Agreste, Josh Bass, Sophie Jordan, Mary Simmons, and Barbara Snowden

RESULT: Approved (5 to 0)